DeLurking Request

I may be late on this but I heard something about a DeLurk Week Meme and thought I would ask what all of you Lurkers would like to see more of or less of on this weblog? I pick up most of you on the Blog Stats page and try to visit but my comments have been rather lite of late and I have been trying to figure out what is missing for you the viewing public.
If you would be so kind as to give me a few hints I would really appreciate it!

Thanks in advance,

Your Host,

Dewayne Mikkelson

About Dewayne Mikkelson

A technogeek in life and a webdeveloper by profession. Blogging is my favorite sport.
This entry was posted in Blogging. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to DeLurking Request

  1. Cas says:

    “I lurk therefore I am” isn’t going to satisfy you really, is it? πŸ˜‰

    As far as I am concerned, nothing is missing, I just rarely comment on things. I also read your site in my RSS reader more frequently than in a browser, an activity that isn’t really conducive to commenting. It takes something extra-ordinary to get me to commit fingers to keyboard and open myself up to the possible humiliation that follows from making a fool of yourself in comments.

    I understand your pain though – nothing is quite so annoying as crafting beautiful posts and then having no feedback. One thing I have noticed, is that the blogs which have lots of comments tend to have hosts (good choice of word btw) that go out of their way to engage their audiences. They ask questions in their posts for their readers to answer, and they bend over backwards to foster a sense of community. Some of the best blogs have posts that merely serve as a starting point for a conversation in the comments field.

    Anyway, that’s me done opening myself up to ridicule for the day. For someone who spends her life researching ways to get people talking to each other, I am appalling. Do as I say, not do as I do πŸ˜‰

    ~ Cas, the Lurker

  2. Thanks Cas, with that kind of comment NOONE should be unhappy with a comment from you!

    That is a great point about the RSS Reader flaw. I wonder why nobody has tried to fix that issue yet?

    I really appreciate the time and effort you expended on my behalf!

    Thanks from one of your blogminions in training….

  3. Cas says:

    You’re just lucky (or unlucky) your post caught me at a time I was trying to work out an argument for an article in my head – I am the queen at prevaricating when it comes to making my brain work, and commenting on a blog is always preferable to writing something constructive of my own!

    I wish I could take credit for pointing out that flaw, but the great and the good (as usual) have got there long before me. I’d recommend reading Stowe Boyd’s article on the topic – http://www.stoweboyd.com/message/2006/01/rss_readering_r.html

    On top of that, the majority of people are still passive consumers of information, regardless of how much noise they may make about how great interactivity is. (Yes, I am one of those passive consumers normally). If you use FeedBurner for your feeds, they’ve introduced something called FeedFlare that inserts a link at the bottom a feed saying ‘add a comment’ (or ‘this post has x comments’ if it has comments) that takes you to the comment form on a blog. To an extent this bridges the gap, but you still have to leave the reader and open up a new browser window.

    Also, bear in mind, up to 90% of an online population will always lurk. They just have no desire to contribute to a discussion, much preferring to sit back and let other people talk for them. And no, I am not making that figure up.

    Looking forward to your minion contribution πŸ˜€

  4. I would say I got Very lucky. It is so much easier to be a couch potato and think that you are being interactive than it is to start typing up something for real. Plus writing is hard work!!!

  5. atariboy says:

    Treat others as you would like to be treated, or something like that, i try and comment most blog posts that i read all the way thru, some i just find boring, other i like or find useful and i comment those, and i love getting comments back, its always nice, so if i comment lots of blogs, then i will hopefully get a comment or two back at the end of the day

  6. Charles Follymacher says:

    Just keep on keepin on Dewayne. Make the post the end to itself. If you blog it, they will (eventually) come πŸ™‚

  7. Thanks for the input Cas, atariboy and Charles, it is greatly appreciated!

Leave a Reply

