ASP to ASP.NET and Ruby on Rails

That title may not be very self explanatory to most of you. At my day job I am currently transitioning from Legacy ASP 3.0 code to ASP.NET 1.1 code and I am also teaching myself Ruby and Rails. I know what you are saying, “That is a really silly thing to do Dewayne!” and it is true but it is what I am doing.

So here is my question for my avid readers, What is the BEST Way to setup an ASP.NET solution in VS.NET 2003 to use ASP Classic with COM objects and ASP.NET 1.1 while converting the code base to ASP.NET?

I am especially having some fun with the COM objects because the creators of the objects put them at the top of the web app. tree instead of inside the tree so I am trying to figure out how to move them safely into the bin directory under the web app in my solution.

I am having so much fun with Ruby on Rails that the ASP.NET stuff feels outdated and clunky and just flat out UNFUN that I am really having a hard time motivating myself to learn what I need to learn in ASP.NET when I have such a shiny tool in Ruby on Rails.

About Dewayne Mikkelson

A technogeek in life and a webdeveloper by profession. Blogging is my favorite sport.
This entry was posted in Ruby on Rails. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to ASP to ASP.NET and Ruby on Rails

  1. Napfisk, You are right that was a lot of technobabble, sorry about that but you came right back at me with some great comments and ideas, Thanks as always.

  2. peteremcc says:

    i’ve heard a lot about Ruby on Rails and would love to learn it,

    finding the time is another matter

  3. peteremcc says:

    oh and i don’t know anything about ASP.NET, sorry.

    Still working on Java and a little Delphi

Leave a Reply

